“Akpabio Wins Election to Lead the Senate President”

“Akpabio Wins Election to Lead the Senate President”

Godswill Akpabio, a former governor of Akwa Ibom State, has successfully been elected as the Senate President of the 10th Assembly, marking a significant milestone.

Akpabio, who was the preferred candidate of the All Progressives Congress, formed a partnership with Jibrin Barau, the senator representing Kano South, who emerged as the Deputy Senate President.

Following a brief recess, the Clerk officially declared Akpabio as the Senate President, as he secured an impressive 63 votes, leaving his rival with 46 votes.

In other notable appointments, Abdulaziz Yari, the former governor of Zamfara, has taken up the role of Chief Whip in the ninth Senate, while Orji Kalu assumes the position of Deputy Chief Whip.

Contrary to the scheduled time of 10 a.m., the election commenced ahead of schedule, shortly before 9 a.m.

Sani Tambuwal, the Clerk of the National Assembly, presided over the session in the Senate Chamber and called for nominations.

Ali Ndume, the senator-elect for Borno South, nominated Godswill Akpabio, the senator-elect for Akwa Ibom North-East, as the Senate President. Akpabio graciously accepted the nomination. On the other hand, Elisha Abbo, the senator-elect for Adamawa North, nominated Abdulaziz Yari, the senator-elect for Zamfara West.

Some senators voiced their protest, expressing concern that Yari, as a first-time senator, was not allowed to compete for the position.

Following the casting of votes in alphabetical order by the lawmakers, two representatives from each team were appointed to tally the votes.

Senators Adeola Solomon and Ndume acted as representatives for Senator Akpabio, while Abbo and Jimoh Ibrahim, the senator-elect representing Ondo South Senatorial District, served as representatives for Senator Yari.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *